The perfect crime

The perfect crime

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Jane Harper’s The Dry has won three of Australia’s most prestigious awards for crime writing – including those for Best First Fiction at the 2017 Ned Kelly Awards and Best Adult Crime Novel at the 17th Davitt Awards.

Jane also claimed the Readers’ Choice award at the Davitts, which are organised and run by Sisters in Crime Australia.

The awards were presented at ceremonies during the Melbourne Writers Festival.

In selecting The Dry as the Best First Fiction winner, the Ned Kelly judges described Jane’s bestselling debut novel as “deftly plotted, pacey and compulsively readable”.

Jane said it was an honour to have the book recognised.

“I have followed the Ned Kelly Awards for many years and thoroughly enjoyed books by previous winners, so for The Dry to now be named among them is very special,” she said.

Jane was also thrilled that The Dry won in two categories at the Davitt Awards. The Readers’ Choice honour was particularly satisfying.

“I think there is nothing better for an author than readers telling you they enjoyed your book,” Jane said on accepting the award.

“I can’t even imagine how many crime novels the Sisters in Crime members and supporters must read each year, so I am very grateful to everyone who voted for The Dry and I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed it.”

The Dry has been in the sights of awards judges since its launch in Australia last year, being named 2017 Book of the Year at both the Australian Book Industry Awards and the Indie Awards.

It is currently shortlisted for the UK Crime Writers Association’s coveted Gold Dagger award for the best crime novel of the year.

The Gold Dagger has been presented to Australian authors just twice in its more than 50-year history – Michael Robotham for Life or Death (2015) and Peter Temple for The Broken Shore (2007).

More News