Crime spree

Crime spree

Saturday, September 7, 2019

The Lost Man has won the 2019 Ned Kelly award for Best Fiction and the Davitt Award for Readers' Choice in the biggest week on Australia's crime writing calendar.

Past winners at the Ned Kelly awards include Jon Cleary, Helen Garner and Peter Temple. The awards are Australia's oldest and most prestigious for crime writing.

In thanking the Australian Crime Writing Association, the Ned Kelly judges and readers, Jane said she was thrilled to receive the Best Fiction award.

"I'm delighted to see The Lost Man recognised in this way," she said. "I'm grateful to the judges and as always the many wonderful readers who have supported the book since its release."

At the Davitt Awards, it was the third consecutive year that one of Jane's titles won the Readers' Choice award.

"It means a lot to any author to know readers are enjoying their work, so to receive this award for a third time is a real honour," Jane said.

The Davitt Awards are presented annually by Sisters in Crime Australia, and recognise the best in crime writing by Australian female authors.

More News